Lima Cathedral

Beez Neez now Chy Whella
Big Bear and Pepe Millard
Wed 29 Sep 2010 22:30
The Basilica Cathedral of Lima

The Basillica is a Roman Catholic cathedral located in the Plaza Mayor of downtown Lima, Peru. Construction began in 1535, the building has undergone many reconstructions and transformation since, however it still retains its colonial structure and facade. 




Description: In keeping with the majority of cathedrals the front facade has three large doorways. The main or central gateway is called the Portada del Perdón or the "door of forgiveness". Above the doorway, instead of Lima's coat-of-arms, there appears the Peruvian seal, and the phrase "Plus Ultra".There are also no less than fourteen side doors; one of which opens on to Calle de Judíos (Street of the Jews) and another on to the Patio de los Naranjos (Square of the Oranges, connected to the Cathedral). At the rear there are two more entrances: Santa Apolonia and San Cristóbal. Set on the front facade are sculptures of the Apostles and in the middle, the Sacred Heart of Jesus. Adjoining the Cathedral are the Parroquia del Sagrario (one of the oldest ones in Lima) and the Archbishop's Palace.




Inside, along the side aisles, are a sequence of large paintings of the Via Crucis, "Way of the Cross. Pope John Paul II visited this cathedral on two occasions, in 1985 and 1988. This is commemorated with signs at the entrance. In the left aisle, the first chapel holds the ancient baptistery. Here can be seen a beautiful image of Nuestra Señora de la Esperanza, who presides over the events during Cuaresm and Holy Week. During a recent restoration, ancient pictures were found in this chapel that are now able to be seen by the public. The next chapel is Capilla de la Sagrada Familia (chapel of the Holy Family), featuring figures of Jesus, Mary and Joseph.




Burials: Augusto Vargas Alzamora, Juan Guevara, Antonio de Mendoza, James Nazrkewich, Juan Landázuri Ricketts and Francisco Pizarro.






Timeline: The following chronological data is based on the work of the priest Antonio San Cristóbal.

  • 18th of January 1535: The conqueror Francisco Pizarro laid the first stone, carrying on his shoulders the first log used in the construction of the Cathedral. The chosen location was between the Main Plaza and the "Street of the Jews," ("Calle de Judíos", in Spanish).
  • 1538: The construction of the first church was completed. It was mainly built of adobe, primitive, small and rustic.
  • 11th of March 1540: The church was officially inaugurated by Francisco Pizarro
  • 14th of May 1541: A papal bull of Pope Paul III, Illius Fulciti Praesidio, designated the church a Cathedral, by creating the diocese of the City of the Kings. The Cathedral now became part of the assigned region of Saint John the Evangelist ("San Juan Evangelista" in Spanish) and ceased to depend on Cusco.
  • 1542: The cathedral underwent several improvements and minor extensions, paid for by García de Salcedo.
  • 17th of September 1543: Bishop Jerónimo de Loayza signed the "Lima Cathedral Construction Act" and selected its council.
  • 12th of February 1546: The church was upgraded to a Metropolitan Church, and "The Kings" became an Archdiocese. This is done by the papal bull Super Universa Orbis of Pope Paul III.
  • 1551: Inauguration of the second Cathedral by Archbishop Jerónimo de Loayza.
  • 1564: Archbishop Jerónimo de Loayza assigned the task of redesigning the Cathedral to Alonso Beltrán, with instructions to base his design on the Cathedral of Seville in Spain.
  • 1572: Work on the third Cathedral began with the demolition of the adobe walls of the second cathedral, but the project was quickly abandoned because of the high cost.
  • 1598: The Renaissance architect Francisco Becerra reduced the plans to only 3 aisles, plus 2 chapels. Works on the third Cathedral were recommenced.
  •  February 2, 1604: Archbishop Toribio Alfonso de Mogrovejo inaugurated the first part of the third Cathedral.
  • 1609: An Earthquake destroyed the vaults of the recently built structure.
  • 1614-1615: The old Renaissance vaults were rebuilt at a lower height in a Gothic style.
  • 15th of August 1622: First Mass in the finished third Cathedral.
  • 19th of October 1625: Archbishop Gonzalo de Ocampo consecrated the third Lima Cathedral.
  • 1626: Juan Martínez de Arona and Pedro de Noguera designed the main portal as it is today.
  • 1687: Another earthquake destroyed the vaults of the Cathedral.
  •  7th of December 1697: Reconstruction of the Cathedral finished and it was officially inaugurated.
  • 1732: Two additional portals were added.
  • 1746: An Earthquake destroyed many vaults and pillars.
  •  29th of May 1755: The first part of the rebuilt Cathedral was inaugurated.
  •  8th of December 1758: The second part of the rebuilt Cathedral was inaugurated.
  •  8th of December 1778: Archibishop Diego Antonio de Parada inaugurated the renovated interior of the Cathedral.
  • 1794-1797: Construction of the current towers of the Cathedral, designed by the architect Ignacio Martorell.
  • 17th of January 1893: The Cathedral was closed because it was in disrepair and in dire need of restoration.
  • 7th of January 1896: Internal renovation works were begun.
  • 6th of January 1898: Inauguration of renovated Cathedral.
  • 1940: Earthquake. Restoration by Emilio Harth-Terré.
  • 2005: New lights were installed.
  • 29th of September 2010. We visited