logo Saxon Blue's Blog

Position Map

Profile


Harvey Jones and Andrea Stokes


British


Discovery


55


http://www.saxonblue.net

RSS Feed


Click here to see these positions in Google Earth. Note that you must have Google Earth installed

Previous Diary Entries

Date Subject Position
2011
Apr 2011
Sat 16 Apr 20:57 Back at White Hill
Thu 14 Apr 23:57 Blogtastic!
Thu 14 Apr 23:52 Waiting for the plane
Wed 13 Apr 22:37 Half Moon Bay
Wed 13 Apr 01:23 Mostly taking it easy
Mon 11 Apr 23:00 Safely into the boatyard
Mon 11 Apr 00:43 Cleaning and polishing
Sun 10 Apr 01:39 Wash Day in Antigua
Sat 09 Apr 02:23 Sails off, ready for a rest
Fri 08 Apr 01:34 One step forward, two steps backwards
Thu 07 Apr 01:34 A second dose of Screw
Wed 06 Apr 01:29 Two Inspiring Dominicans
Tue 05 Apr 01:21 More Champagne
Sun 03 Apr 21:37 Back in Dominica
Sat 02 Apr 02:31 Safely back in Nelsons Dockyard 17:00.48N 61:45.85W
Mar 2011
Thu 31 Mar 23:33 Ospreys and reefs
Thu 31 Mar 01:12 A tricky anchorage 17:04.18N 61:39.92W
Wed 30 Mar 02:52 And then there were four 17:04.20N 61:41.74W
Tue 29 Mar 01:22 Another night, another lobster 17:04.37N 61:40.41W
Mon 28 Mar 00:34 How big's your King Fish, Mate? 17:04.70N 61:40.31W
Sun 27 Mar 00:27 Exploring Barbuda
Sat 26 Mar 01:15 The ones that got away 17:38.47N 61:51.28W
Fri 25 Mar 01:08 Another day, another desert island 17:08.19N 61:43.95W
Thu 24 Mar 01:25 Our own desert island 17:08.70N 61:43.83W
Wed 23 Mar 13:40 A quite day onboard for me
Tue 22 Mar 00:13 Threading through the reefs 17:08.96N 61:45.35W
Mon 21 Mar 00:41 Andrea catches a big fish
Sun 20 Mar 01:12 A whale by the reef 17:05.98N 61:53.56W
Sat 19 Mar 01:00 Lobsters for dinner 17:00.52N 61:50.04W
Fri 18 Mar 00:59 We've got a boat full again
Wed 16 Mar 00:37 Alden has a hard day at work
Tue 15 Mar 01:10 Getting stuff sorted out - eventually
Mon 14 Mar 01:29 Taking it easy
Sat 12 Mar 23:24 An emotional two days 17:00.47N 61:45.86W
Fri 11 Mar 00:39 Frightening the Customs 16:18.49N 61:47.79W
Thu 10 Mar 00:13 Back in the Saintes 15:52.50N 61:35.86W
Wed 09 Mar 01:40 Carnival
Tue 08 Mar 02:06 Distilling on Dominca
Mon 07 Mar 02:46 Champagne Beach and Screw Spa
Sat 05 Mar 01:59 Dominica - the garden island
Thu 03 Mar 15:58 Jungle on Dominca 15:34.87N 61:27.86W
Wed 02 Mar 00:01 The highest point on the Saintes
Tue 01 Mar 01:49 Anchor up, anchor down 15:51.81N 61:35.99W
Feb 2011
Mon 28 Feb 00:54 A relaxed day on Ilet a Cabrit
Sun 27 Feb 02:08 Exploring the Saintes
Sat 26 Feb 02:02 Andrea has a fishy experience
Fri 25 Feb 00:15 Sailing to The Saints 15:52.34N 61:35.89W
Wed 23 Feb 23:47 Sailing to Guadeloupe 16:18.37N 61:47.99W
Wed 23 Feb 01:46 Preparing to leave Antigua
Tue 22 Feb 21:09 New Pictures online
Tue 22 Feb 02:20 A qualified diver
Mon 21 Feb 14:22 Filming and Fettling
Sun 20 Feb 02:30 Diving and sleeping
Sat 19 Feb 02:35 Exploring under the sea
Fri 18 Feb 02:52 Doing my homework
Thu 17 Feb 02:14 A good day for the whales
Wed 16 Feb 01:53 Two days sorting stuff in Antigua
Mon 14 Feb 02:01 Sailing to Nelsons Dockyard 17:00.49N 61:45.84W
Sun 13 Feb 01:56 Goat Water on Montserrat
Sat 12 Feb 01:36 Volcanic destruction on Montserrat 16:48.51N 62:12.43W
Fri 11 Feb 00:52 Heading South again 17:14.94N 62:39.60W
Thu 10 Feb 04:04 Andrea's birthday with a shark
Wed 09 Feb 02:37 Preparing for Andrea's Big Day
Mon 07 Feb 02:03 Birthday in St Barths 17:55.49N 62:52.20W
Sun 06 Feb 02:13 An unexpected anchorage 18:07.00N 62:59.35W
Fri 04 Feb 22:30 Beautiful Saba
Wed 02 Feb 01:27 Walking and whales on Saba
Tue 01 Feb 02:07 Landing on Saba
Jan 2011
Mon 31 Jan 01:40 Sorting things out in St Martin
Sun 30 Jan 02:09 The creatures of the deep 18:04.05N 63:05.33W
Sat 29 Jan 02:41 Back on Statia for a Chinese 17:28.79N 62:59.26W
Fri 28 Jan 04:03 Finding Nelson
Thu 27 Jan 15:01 Nevis sugar mills
Tue 25 Jan 21:26 Hermitage Plantation Inn with monkeys
Mon 24 Jan 02:05 Tash drops in 17:09.09N 62:37.85W
Sun 23 Jan 02:12 Swimming with a Humpback Whale
Sat 22 Jan 01:22 3 Cruise ships and 1 sunken ship 17:14.92N 62:39.62W
Fri 21 Jan 03:43 Another new Country - St Kitts
Thu 20 Jan 02:36 A volcano and lots of wildlife
Wed 19 Jan 01:56 Exploring Statia
Tue 18 Jan 03:30 A hard beat to Statia 17:28.80N 62:59.27W
Mon 17 Jan 02:59 Still off Saba
Sun 16 Jan 02:17 Sailing to Saba 17:38.27N 63:15.42W
Sun 16 Jan 01:19 Leaving Marigot
Fri 14 Jan 03:53 Sails and Hertz
Thu 13 Jan 03:13 Lovely fish
Wed 12 Jan 01:41 Working on Saxon Blue
Tue 11 Jan 01:42 Discussing Mainsail options
Mon 10 Jan 02:11 Jumbo Jets and Maltese Falcon
Sun 09 Jan 03:15 Andrea goes snorkelling
Sat 08 Jan 01:34 Working on Saxon Blue
Fri 07 Jan 03:12 Going over to the Dutch side
Thu 06 Jan 03:35 Getting into the Caribbean vibe
Wed 05 Jan 17:40 Andrea is back 18:04.24N 63:05.26W
Tue 04 Jan 07:48 Anchored in St Martin 18:07.07N 63:02.50W
Mon 03 Jan 22:31 Nearly in St Martin 19:06.51N 62:49.92W
Sun 02 Jan 22:35 Lots and lots of sea 22:28.38N 62:50.84W
Sat 01 Jan 22:56 Happy New Year 25:41.35N 62:47.54W
2010
Dec 2010
Fri 31 Dec 21:55 Atlantic Ocean 29:00.30N 62:51.27W
Thu 30 Dec 22:25 South East of Bermuda 31:43.52N 63:55.63W
Thu 30 Dec 02:22 Preparing to depart from Bermuda
Wed 29 Dec 04:23 OK, enough with the gales
Tue 28 Dec 16:22 New photographs online
Tue 28 Dec 02:08 Geology lessons in Bermuda
Mon 27 Dec 02:22 Doing jobs and preparing for more strong wind
Sun 26 Dec 03:06 Christmas day in Bermuda
Sat 25 Dec 00:06 Putting our stockings out for Santa
Fri 24 Dec 02:37 A boys day out to the big city
Wed 22 Dec 22:12 Bermuda and the Royal Navy Dockyard
Mon 20 Dec 02:54 Preparing for bad weather
Sun 19 Dec 04:39 Exploring Bermuda - is it Paradise?
Sat 18 Dec 00:35 Arrived in Bermuda 32:22.85N 64:40.58W
Thu 16 Dec 20:02 Better weather as we near Bermuda 33:31.61N 67:57.87W
Wed 15 Dec 17:31 Rough Seas on the way to Bermuda 35:35.67N 71:14.33W
Tue 14 Dec 03:01 Preparing for our trip to Bermuda
Sun 12 Dec 03:17 Rain on the Parade 37:01.47N 76:20.45W
Sat 11 Dec 02:24 A party around the bonfire 37:32.90N 76:19.75W
Fri 10 Dec 01:11 Tangled in a fishing net 37:49.40N 76:18.54W
Thu 09 Dec 02:23 Icicles on the pulpit 38:19.40N 76:27.38W
Wed 08 Dec 01:05 Final day in Annapolis
Tue 07 Dec 01:17 Preparing to leave Annapolis
Sun 05 Dec 01:57 Back on Saxon Blue - Hurray
Fri 03 Dec 13:03 Ill in bed
Thu 02 Dec 21:27 Fort Sumter
Wed 01 Dec 19:13 Exploring Charleston
Nov 2010
Mon 29 Nov 21:16 Arlington Cemetery
Sun 28 Nov 23:48 Exploring Washington DC
Fri 26 Nov 00:13 Thanksgiving Day
Thu 25 Nov 00:45 Another busy day in Annapolis
Wed 24 Nov 01:07 Oh no, I've got some Crocs
Tue 23 Nov 00:01 Doing loads of jobs
Sun 21 Nov 23:37 A good day on the water 38:57.69N 76:28.88W
Sun 21 Nov 01:37 Chilling out in St Michaels
Thu 18 Nov 23:55 Sailing to St Michaels 38:47.22N 76:13.17W
Thu 18 Nov 01:52 USS Constellation
Wed 17 Nov 02:10 Exploring Baltimore 39:16.85N 76:36.07W
Mon 15 Nov 11:58 Arriving in Baltimore
Sun 14 Nov 00:28 Saxon Blue sails again
Fri 12 Nov 02:34 Finishing the refit
Oct 2010
Sat 09 Oct 13:07 New photographs of the voyage
Sun 03 Oct 14:24 In New York
Fri 01 Oct 02:32 Annapolis is flooded
Sep 2010
Wed 29 Sep 01:40 Moored in Annapolis 38:57.56N 76:28.47W
Tue 28 Sep 10:29 Anchored by a Nuclear Power station 39:30.26N 75:32.59W
Mon 27 Sep 23:38 Sailing up the Delaware River 39:21.87N 75:26.87W
Mon 27 Sep 02:23 Moored among the casinos 39:22.63N 74:25.59W
Sun 26 Sep 02:14 New York, New York 40:45.55N 74:01.18W
Sat 25 Sep 00:54 Swimming off the back of Saxon Blue 40:49.95N 73:44.29W
Fri 24 Sep 00:47 Fishers Island in Long Island Sound 41:16.91N 71:58.66W
Thu 23 Sep 01:08 Hanging around in Nuntucket
Wed 22 Sep 01:20 Moored in Nantucket 41:17.09N 70:05.60W
Mon 20 Sep 02:15 Arrived in Plymouth USA 41:57.77N 70:39.92W
Sun 19 Sep 18:02 Yankee Whales 42:13.61N 69:47.94W
Sat 18 Sep 18:09 Leaving Canada 43:13.43N 66:00.69W
Sat 18 Sep 00:00 Sunday on Saxon Blue
Thu 16 Sep 02:05 Exploring Lunenburg
Wed 15 Sep 01:00 Farewell to Magnus 44:22.53N 64:18.65W
Tue 14 Sep 00:32 Enjoying the big city
Mon 13 Sep 01:02 Safely arrived in Halifax 44:38.95N 63:34.23W
Sat 11 Sep 23:22 A day chilling and a day sailing 44:56.95N 62:04.32W
Fri 10 Sep 00:48 Alongside in D'Escousse 45:35.37N 60:57.69W
Thu 09 Sep 15:28 Among the islands of Nova Scotia 45:41.88N 60:48.07W
Wed 08 Sep 23:07 Anchored in Bras d'Or 46:16.19N 60:26.04W
Wed 08 Sep 16:41 Crossing Cabot Straight to Nova Scotia 46:52.32N 60:07.31W
Tue 07 Sep 16:54 Getting under the skin of Newfoundland
Tue 07 Sep 11:59 New YouTube videos
Mon 06 Sep 00:52 A day in Corner Brook
Sat 04 Sep 11:25 Getting ready for the storm 49:07.56N 58:04.64W
Fri 03 Sep 19:16 The calm before the storm 49:52.19N 58:04.79W
Thu 02 Sep 22:47 Newfoundland at last 51:35.30N 55:29.49W
Wed 01 Sep 23:50 Safely alongside in Battle Harbour 52:16.44N 55:35.19W
Aug 2010
Tue 31 Aug 23:53 Flying Dophins on Hamilton Bank
Tue 31 Aug 00:21 A gale in the Labrador Sea 58:10.36N 57:19.24W
Sun 29 Aug 17:54 Going along well 61:58.84N 61:25.66W
Sat 28 Aug 19:39 Sailing along off Baffin Island 64:08.03N 63:25.91W
Sat 28 Aug 00:27 Heading South down Cumberland Sound 65:30.75N 65:48.62W
Fri 27 Aug 16:43 The calm after the storm 66:14.28N 65:35.25W
Thu 26 Aug 19:14 A full day in Pangnirtung 66:09.21N 65:42.70W
Wed 25 Aug 02:42 Exploring Kekerten whaling station
Tue 24 Aug 17:44 A visit to a Newfoundland fishing boat
Mon 23 Aug 19:58 Anchored off an old whaling station at Kekerten 65:43.04N 65:49.09W
Sun 22 Aug 15:54 Motoring along in fog 65:44.24N 61:48.88W
Sat 21 Aug 21:40 Heading South past Cumberland Peninsula 67:31.53N 62:42.38W
Sat 21 Aug 03:55 Drifting in the middle of pack ice 68:55.96N 65:27.37W
Fri 20 Aug 17:45 Steaming South 69:37.54N 66:27.15W
Fri 20 Aug 01:53 Leaving Clyde River to head South 70:18.84N 68:46.85W
Thu 19 Aug 03:09 Shooting with the Mounties
Wed 18 Aug 15:24 Officially in Canada 70:27.82N 68:36.12W
Tue 17 Aug 01:45 Exploring Isabella Bay 69:39.49N 67:55.28W
Mon 16 Aug 02:19 Fog and graves
Sun 15 Aug 16:39 An amazing day exploring
Sat 14 Aug 14:46 Arctic Harbour in Canada 69:31.34N 67:33.21W
Fri 13 Aug 14:52 Polar Bear 68:57.65N 66:01.22W
Fri 13 Aug 13:58 Pack Ice 68:57.70N 65:37.48W
Thu 12 Aug 17:43 Nothing around us but sea 70:10.12N 59:11.03W
Wed 11 Aug 22:52 Leaving for Canada 70:41.33N 52:08.54W
Tue 10 Aug 00:38 Our own anchorage 71:04.94N 51:22.23W
Mon 09 Aug 13:15 Two sociable days
Sun 08 Aug 21:30 Black Angel mine 71:07.53N 51:16.22W
Sat 07 Aug 00:18 Under sail at last 70:41.34N 52:08.65W
Fri 06 Aug 01:13 A Scottish Glen with Glaciers 70:24.03N 51:13.95W
Wed 04 Aug 01:25 We visit Santa Claus 70:34.17N 51:39.47W
Tue 03 Aug 00:33 Richard leaves and I get chips 70:41.38N 52:08.64W
Mon 02 Aug 01:25 Richard is a dad 70:40.51N 52:07.32W
Sun 01 Aug 02:53 Dances with Foxes
Jul 2010
Sat 31 Jul 14:49 A long day on the water 70:59.61N 52:14.88W
Fri 30 Jul 08:58 Heading South again 72:19.28N 54:58.76W
Thu 29 Jul 17:28 Maintenance and exploring
Wed 28 Jul 02:28 A very Greenlandic experience 72:46.27N 55:38.96W
Tue 27 Jul 00:06 Getting Ship-shape again
Mon 26 Jul 11:22 Safely in Upernavik 72:47.28N 56:08.81W
Sun 25 Jul 01:48 A relaxing and social day
Fri 23 Jul 23:52 A party on Saxon Blue 72:44.78N 55:40.38W
Thu 22 Jul 23:51 Harvey has a Holiday 71:38.90N 55:37.39W
Thu 22 Jul 00:25 Jamie and Paul Depart 70:41.48N 52:08.69W
Tue 20 Jul 23:58 Ice Dramas 70:41.75N 54:35.04W
Tue 20 Jul 00:30 Two Moonscapes 70:24.84N 54:00.06W
Mon 19 Jul 01:01 Icebergs and photos 70:03.31N 52:19.64W
Sun 18 Jul 01:55 Ice everywhere 69:20.55N 50:59.68W
Sat 17 Jul 00:21 An exciting Birthday for Jamie 69:14.84N 53:33.07W
Thu 15 Jul 23:50 A good day fiddling around
Wed 14 Jul 23:20 A rainy day on Disko island 69:33.27N 53:35.33W
Tue 13 Jul 17:51 Heading North again 67:31.84N 54:16.47W
Mon 12 Jul 21:55 A relaxing day in a lovely town 66:56.45N 53:40.69W
Sun 11 Jul 15:28 Almost at Sisimuit 66:38.51N 54:13.61W
Sat 10 Jul 18:34 Still going North with less fog and more whales 63:51.27N 53:15.90W
Fri 09 Jul 17:07 Motoring North in flat seas 61:09.83N 49:57.95W
Thu 08 Jul 23:08 Cod and Christianity 60:49.62N 45:46.90W
Wed 07 Jul 22:15 A lovely relaxing day in sunny Greenland 60:43.04N 46:02.22W
Tue 06 Jul 00:36 A day in the Sound 59:59.73N 44:24.83W
Mon 05 Jul 01:27 Sailing in the downdraft from a glacier 60:08.25N 43:36.36W
Sun 04 Jul 14:23 Safe and Sound in Greenland 60:04.74N 43:11.66W
Sat 03 Jul 15:06 We can see Greenland 60:33.67N 41:02.74W
Sat 03 Jul 15:06 Gale on the way to Greenland 61:44.50N 35:50.00W
Jun 2010
Wed 30 Jun 20:59 Under way for Greenland 65:32.82N 24:31.23W
Wed 23 Jun 22:44 Safely moored in Isafjordur 66:04.23N 23:07.49W
Tue 22 Jun 22:22 Guillemots and a Whale rendering station 66:21.75N 22:47.17W
Sun 20 Jun 21:43 A truly remote anchorage 66:25.74N 22:29.08W
Sat 19 Jun 22:29 Anchored after a long day 66:02.87N 21:33.53W
Fri 18 Jun 21:47 Get those whales out of the way! 66:08.88N 18:54.45W
Thu 17 Jun 18:34 Back in Akureyri
Mon 14 Jun 20:13 Some sad news
Thu 10 Jun 23:03 Whales on the way to Akureyri 65:40.92N 18:05.19W
Tue 08 Jun 23:05 A great sail on an old Gaffer
Tue 08 Jun 14:36 An amazing sail to Husavik 66:02.69N 17:20.83W
Sun 06 Jun 10:45 Inside the Arctic Circle 66:33.20N 15:59.99W
Sat 05 Jun 22:53 Moored in Raufarhofn - 6 miles from the Arctic Circle 66:27.49N 15:56.55W
Fri 04 Jun 23:47 Moored alongside the fish dock in Vopnafjorder 65:45.48N 14:49.18W
Thu 03 Jun 14:32 A whale before breakfast
Tue 01 Jun 14:05 New pictures and videos
Tue 01 Jun 13:35 Moored up in Seydisfjorder, Iceland 65:15.89N 13:59.67W
May 2010
Mon 31 May 03:25 Approaching coast of Iceland 65:03.43N 12:58.10W
Sun 30 May 13:19 Half-way between Faroes and Iceland 63:39.81N 9:56.46W
Fri 28 May 09:12 Alongside in Tvoroyri, Faroe Islands 61:33.26N 6:48.53W
Tue 25 May 16:17 Alongside the pier in Stornoway 58:12.42N 6:23.35W
Mon 24 May 10:10 Loch Erisort, Isle of Lewis 58:06.33N 6:25.59W
Sun 23 May 12:10 Anchored in the Shiant Islands with thousands of birds 57:53.70N 6:21.38W
Sat 22 May 07:44 A day communing with the wizard
Fri 21 May 14:39 Wizard Pool on South Uist 57:19.25N 7:14.47W
Wed 19 May 18:27 Anchored in Vatersay Bay having a lazy day 56:55.44N 7:31.68W
Mon 17 May 20:26 A lovely day on Rum
Sun 16 May 20:49 Anchored in Loch Scresort on Rum 57:00.80N 6:15.87W
Sat 15 May 10:47 Anchored in Gometra Harbour 56:28.91N 6:15.92W
Sat 15 May 09:25 Lunga - Puffin Island 56:29.95N 6:24.96W
Thu 13 May 19:57 Anchored in Loch na Droma Buidhe 56:39.25N 5:56.46W
Wed 12 May 19:32 Moored in Tobermory Harbour on the island of Mull 56:37.19N 6:03.61W
Fri 07 May 21:46 Arrived in Oban 56:25.10N 5:29.77W
Thu 06 May 17:59 Loch Tarbert, Jura 55:57.66N 5:55.96W
Thu 06 May 06:34 Off Belfast Lough 54:42.28N 5:25.06W
Wed 05 May 14:38 Passing Cardigan Bay 52:34.03N 5:22.92W
Tue 04 May 21:21 Milford Haven 51:42.88N 5:07.53W
Tue 04 May 09:35 Crossing the Bristol Channel 50:54.06N 5:54.15W
Mon 03 May 11:57 Sailing down the channel 50:12.24N 3:32.62W
Sun 02 May 09:15 Portland Marina 50:34.42N 2:27.08W
Mar 2010
Sun 21 Mar 09:27 Setting up Comms 50:53.73N 1:23.54W