logo Zarafina's Web Diary

Position Map

Profile


Melvyn Brown


British


Nicholson


34

RSS Feed


Click here to see these positions in Google Earth. Note that you must have Google Earth installed

Previous Diary Entries

Date Subject Position
2011
Aug 2011
Thu 25 Aug 17:26 I will think no more of the sea...
Jul 2011
Fri 15 Jul 12:13 A unexpected and dramatic end to Melvyn's Adventure 50:43.00N 2:00.00W
Jun 2011
Sat 04 Jun 08:47 Safe in The Azores 38:31.09N 28:37.50W
Fri 03 Jun 14:59 The sailor would appear to be safe....
May 2011
Mon 30 May 22:13 Yet to arrive in The Azores
Apr 2011
Tue 26 Apr 19:09 Preparing to sail The Atlantic
Tue 19 Apr 14:45 Turtle Cove Marina 21:47.10N 72:13.60W
Sun 10 Apr 10:43 Quiet anchorage in Turks & Caicos Islands 21:29.50N 71:32.30W
Mar 2011
Wed 30 Mar 13:13 British Virgin Islands 18:26.50N 64:45.00W
Thu 10 Mar 17:17 White sand...turquoise seas...80deg (you have to feel sorry for him) 23:06.10N 74:57.60W
Thu 03 Mar 19:48 Eleuthera Island 25:20.90N 76:29.60W
Thu 03 Mar 19:38 Devil's Cave 25:36.17N 77:44.01W
Feb 2011
Sat 26 Feb 10:15 The Bahamas 26:29.70N 78:41.60W
Tue 01 Feb 23:29 Fort Lauderdale (Mile 1063.9 ICW) 26:07.10N 80:06.50W
Jan 2011
Fri 28 Jan 20:55 So many bridges.....! 26:26.70N 80:03.90W
Mon 24 Jan 22:47 Still in Stuart
Tue 18 Jan 19:51 It's taken a 1,000 miles....but finally "I get it" 27:20.00N 80:25.83W
Thu 13 Jan 23:00 Vero Beach 27:39.50N 80:22.20W
Sun 09 Jan 21:59 The Space Coast
Thu 06 Jan 00:12 Titusville, Florida (Mile 878 ICW) 28:37.20N 80:48.60W
Sun 02 Jan 20:21 New Year's Day on the beach
2010
Dec 2010
Thu 30 Dec 21:38 New Smyrna Beach (Mile 846 ICW) 29:01.64N 80:55.23W
Sat 25 Dec 20:23 Christmas Day in St Augustine, Florida
Wed 22 Dec 21:47 Florida....at last! Mile 778.6 ICW 29:53.50N 81:18.60W
Sun 19 Dec 19:03 Brunswick, Georgia 31:09.10N 81:29.90W
Mon 13 Dec 22:57 Savannah, Georgia
Fri 10 Dec 15:32 Georgia.....but STILL cold! 32:01.50N 81:02.80W
Mon 06 Dec 22:03 Georgetown and Carolina Gold
Sun 05 Dec 02:12 South Carolina....but still cold! 33:39.90N 79:04.20W
Fri 03 Dec 19:23 Holden Beach (Mile 283 ICW) 34:13.00N 78:15.60W
Nov 2010
Tue 30 Nov 19:37 (Near) Surf City (ICW Mile 267) 34:23.20N 77:38.30W
Sat 27 Nov 22:27 New Bern
Wed 24 Nov 20:45 Beaufort, North Carolina
Sun 21 Nov 20:35 Seventy Degrees Fahrenheit
Sat 20 Nov 23:29 Basking in the Carolina sun....eat your heart out! 34:42.90N 76:39.80W
Mon 15 Nov 21:55 Norfolk (Mile 0) to Pungo Ferry (Mile 28.5) 36:37.10N 76:02.90W
Sat 13 Nov 17:41 Norfolk - and the start of the ICW proper! 36:50.60N 76:27.50W
Thu 11 Nov 21:31 Colonial Sightseeing
Mon 08 Nov 18:18 Bad seas on Chesapeake Bay 37:32.40N 76:20.20W
Sat 06 Nov 18:45 Kilmarnock as viewed from a bicycle!
Thu 04 Nov 19:35 Kilmarnock, Virginia 37:41.90N 76:21.00W
Tue 02 Nov 18:24 Oxford - East Chesapeake Bay 38:41.60N 76:10.10W
Mon 01 Nov 12:53 Zarafina back in the water 38:57.70N 76:28.93W
Oct 2010
Sun 31 Oct 18:45 Washington
Sat 30 Oct 12:06 Historic Annapolis 38:57.70N 76:28.93W
Fri 29 Oct 17:59 Bad news: Zarafina very poorly; Good News: We sleep in real beds 38:57.70N 76:28.93W
Wed 27 Oct 21:59 Chesapeake Bay 38:57.70N 76:28.93W
Tue 26 Oct 03:20 Will it...? Won't it....? Aaaagh! 39:32.70N 75:42.60W
Sat 23 Oct 02:53 Cape May...and not a whale to be seen 38:57.60N 74:52.00W
Thu 21 Oct 02:05 Out of Atlantic City....and back again! 39:22.90N 74:25.30W
Wed 20 Oct 19:17 We went to Atlantic City....and found it was closed! 39:22.70N 74:25.50W
Tue 19 Oct 16:10 Atlantic City 39:22.70N 74:25.52W
Mon 18 Oct 00:32 Grounded...Plan B 40:06.40N 74:03.10W
Sun 17 Oct 16:00 Into the Intercoastal Waterway....and out again 40:03.09N 74:02.90W
Sat 16 Oct 13:47 Stuck on Staten Island 40:32.60N 74:08.30W
Sun 10 Oct 16:10 New York! New York! 40:45.30N 73:51.40W
Sat 09 Oct 16:00 Bridgeport....closed for the winter 41:09.40N 73:12.80W
Fri 08 Oct 01:20 Old Saybrook, Connecticut 41:17.00N 72:21.00W
Mon 04 Oct 21:14 Snug...but not warm! 41:23.17N 71:30.98W
Fri 01 Oct 19:27 Rained upon in Marion 41:42.47N 70:45.56W
Sep 2010
Wed 29 Sep 20:58 Marion.....Just As You Imagine a Cape Cod Town 41:42.47N 70:45.56W
Mon 27 Sep 08:00 From Salem to Sandwich....via Hell! 41:46.24N 70:30.22W
Sat 25 Sep 17:00 Hawthorne Cove Marina, Salem...the eagle has landed 42:31.20N 70:52.18W
Fri 17 Sep 19:26 More bad weather 43:48.55N 66:08.58W
Sat 11 Sep 15:21 Halifax, Nova Scotia 44:32.00N 63:37.00W
Wed 01 Sep 09:25 'Sailor's Paradise'
Aug 2010
Tue 31 Aug 20:53 Windy! 46:05.70N 60:45.10W
Mon 23 Aug 20:24 Unexpected stopover in Newfoundland 46:17.30N 60:26.20W
Fri 06 Aug 15:37 Heading South
Wed 04 Aug 20:58 Sightseeing in Reykjavik 64:09.00N 21:56.50W
Jul 2010
Wed 28 Jul 08:04 Puffin in the Basket...? 63:21.54N 20:12.27W
Thu 22 Jul 20:39 Heading for Iceland 58:37.70N 6:12.60W
Tue 20 Jul 17:44 Stornoway...at last! 58:12.60N 6:23.40W
Wed 14 Jul 06:02 Still(!) on the Whisky Trail 57:18.30N 6:21.40W
Jun 2010
Sat 26 Jun 20:26 The Whisky Trail 56:25.10N 5:29.80W
Tue 22 Jun 07:14 Isle of Man 54:13.60N 4:41.50W
Wed 09 Jun 18:48 Day of Departure 50:43.16N 2:00.15W