logo Rhumbrunner's Web Diary

Position Map


Click here to see these positions in Google Earth. Note that you must have Google Earth installed

Previous Diary Entries

Date Subject Position
2017
Mar 2017
Wed 08 Mar 17:13 7th March 28:07.70N 15:25.50W
Sat 04 Mar 20:05 4rd March - Smelling land 27:52.40N 19:05.40W
Fri 03 Mar 18:59 3rd March - Strong wind finish 28:18.40N 21:47.40W
Thu 02 Mar 22:02 2nd March - Genoa furling problems 28:41.90N 23:43.90W
Wed 01 Mar 19:50 1st March 27:24.40N 25:01.10W
Feb 2017
Tue 28 Feb 10:16 28/2 24:48.20N 25:24.10W
Mon 27 Feb 18:40 Interesting 24hrs 23:25.40N 25:16.90W
Sun 26 Feb 11:24 Crossed my track across the Atlantic 21:07.40N 25:03.80W
Sat 25 Feb 09:47 Departure from Mindelo Cape Verde 18:37.70N 25:07.90W
Wed 15 Feb 18:21 Land Ho! 16:09.60N 24:08.90W
Mon 13 Feb 12:09 2 days out 14:17.30N 21:46.30W
Sun 12 Feb 12:45 Plain sailing 12:12.40N 19:46.10W
Sat 11 Feb 12:11 Hard on the wind 10:57.50N 19:55.70W
Fri 10 Feb 12:08 Wind 9:41.80N 19:36.00W
Thu 09 Feb 12:29 Last day or so in the Doldrums 8:16.80N 18:23.90W
Wed 08 Feb 13:24 Not sure the gribs work around here 6:20.50N 18:43.90W
Tue 07 Feb 14:26 In like Flynn 4:41.10N 19:29.50W
Mon 06 Feb 12:22 Up North 2:33.00N 19:10.00W
Sun 05 Feb 10:21 Doldrums & squalls 0:22.00S 19:06.00W
Sat 04 Feb 12:36 Equator here we come 2:00.00S 18:24.90W
Fri 03 Feb 10:18 Into the groove 3:59.40S 17:10.00W
Fri 03 Feb 10:18 Lows and highs 6:53.18S 15:11.95W
Jan 2017
Tue 31 Jan 11:46 Departing for Cape Verde 7:55.18S 14:24.75W
Fri 27 Jan 15:38 200nm to go to Ascnesion 9:56.80S 12:04.60W
Thu 26 Jan 16:22 Over half way 11:23.60S 10:24.50W
Thu 26 Jan 16:22 24/1/17 14:00.40S 7:38.60W
Thu 26 Jan 16:22 Wed 25 Jan, towards Ascension 12:46.50S 8:58.00W
Thu 26 Jan 16:22 Goodbye St. Helena 15:33.90S 6:06.40W
Sat 21 Jan 17:23 St Helena 15:55.50S 5:43.40W
Sat 21 Jan 16:58 (no subject)
Tue 17 Jan 14:05 Day of Chocolate
Sun 15 Jan 15:04 An eventful day 22:26.00S 3:42.00E
Fri 13 Jan 14:37 Yellowfin Tuna
Wed 11 Jan 13:35 11/01/17 F4 in the sunshine
Tue 10 Jan 13:57 Day 2 to St Helena 31:49.53S 15:53.25E
Sun 08 Jan 20:25 V&A Cape Town - Check out woe's 33:54.47S 18:25.15E
2016
Nov 2016
Wed 09 Nov 03:46 Hout Bay, Cape Town 34:02.99S 18:20.85E
Mon 07 Nov 05:31 Indian to Atlantic Ocean & most southerly point 34:52.80S 20:00.00E
Wed 02 Nov 14:45 Mossel Bay 34:10.70S 22:08.70E
Tue 01 Nov 14:42 Heading for Mossel Bay 34:08.18S 25:25.40E
Tue 01 Nov 05:14 Port Elizabeth 33:58.01S 25:38.09E
Oct 2016
Sun 30 Oct 08:48 Port Elizabeth
Fri 28 Oct 06:32 Still trying for Port Elizabeth 33:13.47S 29:06.94E
Thu 27 Oct 05:05 Richards Bay 31:10.47S 30:10.54E
Wed 19 Oct 06:51 Richards Bay 28:47.44S 32:05.96E
Mon 17 Oct 05:41 Southerlies kicked in on approach to Richards Bay 28:39.00S 35:07.00E
Sun 16 Oct 06:40 Planning our approach to Richards Bay 28:04.00S 37:33.00E
Sat 15 Oct 07:12 Planning our approach to Richards Bay 27:18.00S 39:41.00E
Fri 14 Oct 07:41 Clear of Madagascar in a F7 26:59.00S 41:53.80E
Thu 13 Oct 07:11 Rounding the bottom of Madagascar 26:37.00S 45:45.40E
Wed 12 Oct 03:29 Rhumb Runner on route to South Africa fixing blocked head! 25:17.00S 48:54.80E
Tue 11 Oct 01:34 Rhumb Runner on route to South Africa in light winds 24:09.00S 51:33.00E
Mon 10 Oct 04:43 Rhumb Runner on route to South Africa in perfect conditions 21:32.00S 54:02.00E
Sep 2016
Fri 23 Sep 10:45 Rhumb Runner Winds 15-25 SSE 19:14.00S 65:49.00E
Thu 22 Sep 01:15 Rhumb Runner Winds 15-27 SSE 18:35.00S 69:55.60E
Tue 20 Sep 02:05 Rhumb Runner Winds 15-30 SSE 17:31.00S 73:26.60E
Mon 19 Sep 01:38 Rhumb Runner Winds 15-20 SSE 16:53.00S 76:36.20E
Sat 17 Sep 02:01 Indian Ocean between Cocos & Rodrigues 15:32.00S 82:45.50E
Thu 01 Sep 08:14 Indian Ocean on route to Christmas Island 10:39.80S 116:04.80E
Jul 2016
Mon 18 Jul 15:43 Goodbye Pacific 10:56.50S 147:00.60E
Sun 03 Jul 05:14 Crossed the other side of the world & visited the Tanna Volcano 19:31.50S 169:29.80E
Jun 2016
Sun 26 Jun 00:47 Tonga & onwards 19:00.80S 176:56.30W
Sat 11 Jun 02:52 Fakarava & the Society Islands 17:00.80S 152:57.10W
May 2016
Thu 19 May 05:53 Goodbye Marquesas 13:43.80S 143:40.50W
Sun 08 May 17:09 Marquesas - land of King Kong 9:48.30S 139:01.90W
Thu 05 May 01:55 No wind & motoring last 500 miles to Hiva Oa 10:03.80S 134:14.20W
Apr 2016
Wed 27 Apr 00:57 Downhill in light winds 8:47.80S 116:15.50W
Thu 21 Apr 23:50 position correction 7:13.50S 105:45.20W
Thu 21 Apr 23:50 Half way in 12 days - could be a fast crossing 7:31.90S 104:08.30W
Mon 18 Apr 10:57 Crossed the Equator & good sailing 5:13.50S 92:45.20W
Wed 13 Apr 23:20 Sailing towards the Galapagos, even though we'd like to go south 1:00.20N 85:29.20W
Sun 10 Apr 22:30 Grib Request
Sun 10 Apr 22:30 Goodbye Panama & Hello Pacific 5:52.60N 80:23.20W
Mar 2016
Wed 23 Mar 00:00 Waiting in Las Playitas 8:54.54N 79:31.51W
Feb 2016
Sun 21 Feb 16:26 Portobello & all change 9:33.40N 79:39.56W
Thu 11 Feb 02:25 San Blas 9:31.01N 78:38.97W
Jan 2016
Wed 27 Jan 12:06 Dinghy stop in Shelter Bay, Colon 9:22.07N 79:57.04W
Sat 23 Jan 12:26 Isla Del Rosario - First real dive 10:11.86N 75:41.24W
Mon 18 Jan 02:56 Cartagena, Columbia
Thu 14 Jan 23:16 Half way to Cartegena & one crew down 10:55.40N 75:02.29W
Sun 10 Jan 22:00 Santa Marta, Columbia with the OCC Rally 11:14.55N 74:13.08W
Sun 03 Jan 18:44 Aruba Aruba 12:54.67N 70:02.04W
Sun 03 Jan 18:26 Greetings from the deep blue sea - somewhere west of Saint Lucia 12:48.55N 67:42.52W
2015
Dec 2015
Tue 29 Dec 04:40 And we're off again 13:43.87N 62:10.38W
Fri 25 Dec 08:33 We made it at 07.00 this morning
Mon 14 Dec 11:49 Marigot Bay 13:58.00N 61:01.43W
Mon 14 Dec 11:39 St. Lucia - Life in the slow internet lane
Tue 08 Dec 22:21 Enjoying St. Lucia 14:04.50N 60:56.94W
Sat 05 Dec 22:24 'T'was the night before St. Lucia 14:22.54N 59:12.75W
Fri 04 Dec 20:49 The second last supper 15:00.44N 56:26.64W
Thu 03 Dec 04:58 Fish back on the menu 15:31.33N 51:38.99W
Tue 01 Dec 20:32 Plain sailing 16:23.93N 47:55.10W
Tue 01 Dec 02:23 night sky 16:38.60N 45:50.17W
Nov 2015
Sun 29 Nov 22:59 The Boat that rocks 16:51.76N 42:54.10W
Sat 28 Nov 22:19 The wind is back but gentle 17:22.62N 40:08.05W
Fri 27 Nov 19:57 Light winds & squalls 18:08.59N 37:25.82W
Fri 27 Nov 03:04 Just passed half way 18:08.85N 35:39.42W
Wed 25 Nov 23:46 Rob's first blog 19:08.00N 32:45.65W
Wed 25 Nov 07:21 Fish & rain 19:15.88N 30:43.24W
Tue 24 Nov 01:02 Go West 20:08.18N 27:17.83W
Mon 23 Nov 02:07 Sailing & fishing - who said men can't multi-task? 21:05.07N 25:04.21W
Sat 21 Nov 23:03 The one that got away 22:57.61N 22:19.16W
Fri 20 Nov 19:12 Still heading south till the butter melts 24:53.40N 18:55.74W
Thu 19 Nov 16:12 day1 update 27:01.10N 15:28.70W
Wed 18 Nov 16:07 Tracking 28:38.77N 13:45.79W
Wed 18 Nov 11:40 We are off across the Atlantic
Mon 16 Nov 11:24 Crew have arrived
Fri 13 Nov 17:04 A few pictures of down below
Thu 12 Nov 20:38 Back in the water
Fri 06 Nov 17:48 Day 4 on the hard
Oct 2015
Sat 31 Oct 08:54 First SSB email sent & recieved
Thu 29 Oct 12:10 Pictures from Arrecife
Wed 28 Oct 11:03 Arrecife 28:57.83N 13:32.29W