logo Esper's Web Diary

Position Map


Click here to see these positions in Google Earth. Note that you must have Google Earth installed

Previous Diary Entries

Date Subject Position
2013
Jun 2013
Mon 10 Jun 04:10 Photo By Fiona - Roam II
Mon 10 Jun 03:45 Lines Tied at RLYC 6:18.16N 99:50.97E
Sun 09 Jun 11:46 The Eagle has Landed 6:18.07N 99:51.02E
Sat 08 Jun 11:26 Flat & no wind until a moment ago when some unpredicted wnw just kicked in! Motorsailing @ 6kn 6:09.24N 97:46.52E
Fri 07 Jun 13:28 Finally made 2nd waypoint & into Malacca Strait. Was slow with no wind but now wsw building. On home straight! 6:02.13N 95:34.11E
Thu 06 Jun 20:11 BUT...we have just spotted land! a silhouetted mountain on horizon 35 miles away!
Thu 06 Jun 20:10 Hellishly slow motorsail against current & no wind. Engine at 2200rpm yet av 3kn. painful. 5:53.55N 94:21.48E
Wed 05 Jun 11:33 After a week of 1000 miles of incredible sailing, the winds have died- engine on. Yawn! 5:41.25N 92:54.03E
Wed 05 Jun 07:49 Good run last night. Just lost mainsail outhaul car- watched ball-bearings drop into sea! Winds dying
Tue 04 Jun 15:44 Headsail furler mech jammed- no use. Heavy rain squalls all day but good prog with SW20, now dying 5:23.94N 90:52.88E
Tue 04 Jun 15:42 In 5m waves & oncoming squall we rescued & set free 2 turtles caught in net! 5:14.88N 90:07.47E
Tue 04 Jun 15:25 See prev msg for last night. 2day v frustrating big rolly seas wsw-25kn winds 5:04.64N 88:47.67E
Tue 04 Jun 15:24 We have had gale force squalls, big seas, surfing waves 14kn! madness.
Sun 02 Jun 12:35 Super day- broad reach. SW20. Evening bringing squalls 4:43.91N 86:33.79E
Sat 01 Jun 11:30 ...winds have slowed today, gentle broad reach in sw breeze
Sat 01 Jun 11:29 Running in near gale squalls last night. Liz helming saw us right... 4:24.95N 84:37.16E
May 2013
Fri 31 May 11:11 We did just see hundreds of tuna jumping out of water, rounding up fish. Amazing!
Fri 31 May 11:09 Lost aux rudder. Just fell off. Hand steering next 1200 miles! 4:06.20N 82:30.56E
Thu 30 May 11:21 Cracking days sail. 3:44.82N 80:09.19E
Thu 30 May 11:20 ENGINE HOURS 3, FASTEST SOG 13KN, WATER MADE 90LT. AVG 130NM PER DAY.
Wed 29 May 16:05 ALL GOOD HERE. SEA STATE EXCELLENT. 6+KN HITTING 7S. FEW FISHING BOATS. CLR SKIES
Wed 29 May 14:33 SSW12 ON BEAM. HAVE SOLVED HEADSAIL PROBLEM. 3:45.31N 77:33.39E
Tue 28 May 11:20 GOOSEWING SW10 4.5KN 3:57.45N 75:22.67E
Tue 28 May 10:00 LIZ JUST CAUGHT A BROWN BOOBIE ON LINE. HE'S RECOVERING ON SOLAR PANEL..NO! HE FELL IN BUT OK
Mon 27 May 11:53 WIND SW 7 KNOTS. MARGE STEERING. SUN OUT. GREAT 2B OUT HERE.
Mon 27 May 11:50 Gentle Start 4:09.69N 73:38.15E
Sun 26 May 12:20 Three Days to Check Out & Counting
Sat 25 May 12:18 Departure Delayed By A Day
Fri 24 May 07:25 (no subject) 4:12.52N 73:31.90E
Mon 06 May 16:13 Squally Hulumale
Mon 06 May 16:04 4:13.175N 073:32.158E 4:13.18N 73:32.16E